The Letter: A captivating story of forbidden love, secrets, and sacrifice.

Written by Ruth Saberton

Shortlisted for the prestigious Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize 2018, The Letter is a beautiful novel set in England between the First World War and the present day. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is a story of family, forbidden love, and the darkest of secrets.

“One of my books of the year,” Being Anne.
“Will break your heart and touch your soul.” Amazon Vine reviewer.

On the eve of the First World War aspiring poet Kit Rivers looks forward to a bright future. As the Lord of the Manor’s heir, Kit’s duty is to the family estate but when he falls passionately in love he knows a hard choice must be made. Yet before the golden days of summer can fade into autumn, war comes and changes his world forever.

One century later young widow Chloe exchanges London for an isolated Cornish house. Haunted by memories, Chloe’s interest in an obscure war poet, Kit Rivers, proves a welcome distraction from grief and leads her to piece together a forgotten history. Faced with more questions than answers, her own life soon becomes entwined with Kit’s through love, loss, and the darkest of secrets…

This suspenseful novel is set in Cornwall and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and Rosamunde Pilcher. Romantic and moving, it is a tale of loss and love, the devastation of war and a homage to the lives shattered in the trenches and at home.

A #1 bestseller on Amazon UK, The Letter is a vivid novel of heart-break and passion, with characters – and an ending – the reader won’t forget.

Feedback

$6.09 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time