Key to the Journey: A Magical Adventure (The Chronicles of Hawthorn Book 2)

Written by Rue
Category: · Teens & Young Adult

Maybe the gift Flynn hoped for is a curse after all . . .

Young Flynn Hawthorn anxiously awaits the return of the initiates to Moa Bend. Normally she doesn’t look forward to her training sessions, but she’ll do anything to end her endless afternoons trapped in Mistress Tamsin’s Herb Hut.

Without warning, Flynn’s world turns upside down. Her best friend disappears in Dreamwood Forest. Her mother, the High Priestess, finally tells Flynn the truth about her father–a truth that comes with more questions than answers. And somehow, the falcon she chose to train is triggering strange episodes of time-warped astral travel!

Flynn embarks on a journey to uncover long-awaited answers. Will she find a way to save her people from the growing threat in Southeil, or will she unwittingly put herself directly into the hands of the Shadow Witch?

Buy “Key to the Journey” to join the adventure today!

Interview with the Author

Q – So, what makes The Chronicles of Hawthorn series special?

A – It’s actually a mix of things. When I chose to write these books, I wanted to create a diverse story that reminded me of the kind of fantasy, magic, and advenure books I like to read. My top picks are usually epic fantasy novels, any of the witch and wizard best sellers, and, of course, books featuring magic, spells, and potions with a dash of humor. Basically, anything with a fantasy genre flavor and a fast-paced style gets my click.

The Chronicles of Hawthorn books are a great mix of these genres. You’ll find the series focuses on the magic and adventure / young adult fantasy genre overall, with a pinch of historical fiction thrown in for good measure, and an adventurous take on magic and friendships to keep things interesting!

Overall, The Chronicles of Hawthorn series is designed with short, punchy chapters to keep you turning the pages – and I’ve made sure you’ll want to know what happens next.

Q – What order should I read the books in?

A – If you want to read them in order and follow the Flynn’s story as it builds, I’d suggest the following sequence:

– The Courage of Kahu (Series Prequel, novella)

– An Average Curse (Book 1)

– Key to the Journey (Book 2)

– The Shadow Calls (Book 3)

– Taken by the Shadow (Book 4)

– The Prisoner of Light (Book 5)

– Secrets of Kabara (Book 6, February 2018)

– Daughter of Shadow (Book 7, May 2018)

Q – So, why should readers give these books a try?

A – Because The Chronicles of Hawthorn series is a historical fantasy series that features adventure, female characters and nature based magic! Book one hit the top 100 bestsellers list on Kindle for Teen & Young Adult > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Wizards & Witches, and Taken by the Shadow was nominated for Cover of the Month on All Authors.

At the end of the day, readers who enjoy historical fantasy with a plot that features two best friends and a rich cast of supporting characters will get a fantastic adventure out of this series.

Q – Can readers get the whole series in one bundle?

A – Of course. I put together a bundle for readers who would like to read the entire series and save a little cash, too. Check out my author page here at Amazon for more details, and a full list of my available titles.

And thank you for reading!

The Chronicles of Hawthorn Series eBook Categories:

– Witches and Wizards

– Teen and Young Adult

– Science Fiction and Fantasy Series

– Teen and Young Adult Novels

– Historical Fantasy Series

– YA Fantasy Books

– YA Witches Series


$2.89 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time