Facing the Sun (Sun-Blessed Trilogy Book 1)

Written by Carol Beth Anderson

Dive into a world of golden magic and looming evil, a book readers describe as “a new, immersive fantasy experience” with“hints of romance,” “terrific villains,” and “all the right Young Adult feels, but with a new spin.”

“An imaginative tale with a unique magic system that will delight on every page.”
-Chrystal Grcevich, author of Waiting to Breathe

The glow itself seemed to be alive, breathing, spreading under the baby’s skin.
One question filled my mind:
Who is this child?

Tavi Malin is born facing the sun, filled with greater magic than any other sun-blessed child.

When Tavi turns fourteen, her magic awakens. Her uncontrollable, destructive power frightens those around her—almost as much as it terrifies Tavi herself.

Tavi and her friends train to use their gifts, unaware of the threat developing in a distant city. Dissidents have banded together, and they’re killing to attain gray magic, an ominous new force that breaks the rules of ordinary magic.

But to seize true power, the Grays must grow their ranks—and Tavi is a prize worth pursuing.

In a fight where confidence is as crucial as strength, even extraordinary gifts aren’t sufficient. If Tavi is to prevail against the Grays, she must find a courage that goes deeper than magic itself.

You’ll love the entrancing characters, relationships, and magic in this all-new fantasy world. Pick up Facing the Sun now!

Author Interview:

What makes this new world unique?

In the Sun-Blessed Trilogy, the magical system is tied to childbirth. I love the miracle of birth, and tying magic to such an incredible event felt natural and appropriate. Some of the heroes in this series are midwives, who pass magic on to sun-blessed children and later train these same children to use their gifts.

What audiences is the series appropriate for?

This trilogy is clean fantasy. There is no cursing, explicit sexual content, or gory violence. It’s appropriate for teen and adult audiences. I wanted to write a series my own kids could read, and I’m happy to provide an exciting, quality story that a wide variety of ages will enjoy.

Reading Order:

  • Facing the Sun, Facing the Gray, and Facing the Fire should be read in order.
  • Birth of Magic is a prequel novella that may be read before or after the main trilogy.


$2.74 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time