Rise of the Tide: A Young Adult Fantasy Romance (The Lost Kingdom of Fallada Book 3)

Written by Alicia Michaels

A fantasy twist on the story of The Princess and The Frog … in which the princess is a shapeshifting mermaid! Perfect for fans of the hit television show, Once Upon a Time, or lovers of twisted fairy tales!
Phaedra Jones’ life is perfect. She loves her small coastal town and the beach, graduation is just a year away, and she’s in love with the boy of her dreams. Unfortunately, everything changes when Phaedra’s boat goes down in a storm. Luckily, Phaedra survives, finding herself in a world beyond anything she could ever imagine. Not only does she discover that she is a Mermaid shifter of the underwater kingdom of Zenun, but the kingdom of Fallada—where fairytale creatures live and breathe—is depending on her. Phaedra risks losing everything: her perfect life, her family, even the boy she loves … all for a cause she has no stake in.

Arrian Riverleaf, Elf prince of the Riverleaf Clan, has been shunned by his people for over a century. After his arrogance caused him to be cursed, he became a hideous creature, only a shadow of his former self. When Princess Phaedra arrives in Fallada, he does not intend her to steal his heart. With her lost love to compete with and his own insecurities over his unattractive face, Arrian fights his feelings, knowing she could never look beyond his curse to love him.

As the two fight together to save Phaedra’s people, the realm of Fallada and the world of men will both hang in the balance as the battle between good and evil rages on.

The Lost Kingdom of Fallada Reading Order

Beyond the Iron Gate (Prequel)
Daughter of the Red Dawn
Child of the Sacred Earth
Rise of the Tide
Tempest’s Fury

Interview with the Author

Q: So, what makes the Lost Kingdom of Fallada series special?
A: This series combines some of my all-time favorite things. Strong young adult girls as main characters, a fantasy world, mystical creatures like werewolves, elves faeries, and mermaids, action and adventure, and romance. The series is about seven princesses, each who possesses a unique ability, who live on Earth but were really born in an alternate dimension. They are needed to win a war back in their home world, and to defeat an evil queen who is obsessed with literally ruling the entire universe. A lot of my readers have compared it to the television show Once Upon a Time, as it combines several fairytale adaptations in one story and world.

Q: Why should readers give these books a try?
A: Because once you cross over into Fallada, you will feel transported and will never want to go home again! In Fallada many of your favorite classic tales are given new life with a Young Adult twist, including: Little Red Riding Hood, Snow White & Rose Red, The Princess and the Frog, and Hansel and Gretel. There are shape-shifters, witches, dwarves, centaurs, and nymphs, all co-existing in a world of wonder and danger. The characters become a close-knit family while engaging on epic quests and adventures, and of course romances blossom. This series truly has something for everyone, no matter how they like their fantasy.

Q: How many books will be in the complete series?
A: By the time the series is complete there will be nine books. This will include 7 books, one about each of the kingdom’s lost princesses, as well as 2 prequels, giving more background on the world of Fallada. Of course, anything can happen, and more books are always a possibility!

The Lost Kingdom of Fallada Series Keywords

Young Adult Romance
Paranormal Fantasy
Fairy Tale Retellings
Sweet Romance
Fae Books
Fae Series
Mermaid Books
Elf Books
Warrior Princess
Interracial/Multicultural Romance
Love Triangle



Available for a limited time