Hal Spacejock Omnibus One: Hal Spacejock books 1-3, plus Visit

Written by Simon Haynes
Category: · Teens & Young Adult

“I read it at a sitting and couldn’t put it down.” – Tom Holt

Hal Spacejock Omnibus One contains three full-length novels plus a bonus short story.

Here’s what you get:

A Robot Named Clunk (Hal Spacejock Book 1)
Clunk, a clapped-out robot, is convinced he’s about to be junked. Instead, his penny-pinching boss is sending him off to be refurbished. Being old and wise, Clunk knows there’s a catch, but at first it doesn’t seem too bad. He just has to help a freelancer pick up some cargo.
Unfortunately, Hal Spacejock – the freelancer – is obstinate, over-confident, and woefully under-skilled, and he’s never going to let a lowly robot fly his precious ship.
Is there any chance this pair of misfits can lift off, collect the cargo and deliver it in one piece? Or will they fly straight into the nearest star, still bickering and fighting over the controls?

Second Course (Hal Spacejock Book 2)
Hal Spacejock’s cargo business is going so well he’s considering getting into passengers … especially the beautiful and mysterious Sonya Polarov. Clunk’s certain she’s up to something, but as usual Hal won’t listen to a word he says …
Meanwhile, Rex Curtis runs the galaxy’s biggest freight company, and he’s sick of independent pilots stealing his cargo jobs. He’s determined to make a statement by destroying the biggest nuisance of them all: Hal Spacejock.

Just Desserts (Hal Spacejock Book 3)
Hal’s new-fangled, bargain-bin stasis generator has just failed, exactly as Clunk predicted, and now their valuable cargo of fresh food is in danger of rotting away. They leave their ship and head off to find replacement parts, which is a real shame, because a secret agent wants Hal’s ship for an urgent mission … with or without his permission.

Visit (A Hal Spacejock short story)
Hal returns from a shopping trip and finds Clunk in a right old state. Break out the crayons and colouring sheets … they’re booked in for a school visit!

About the Hal Spacejock series

Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, the Hal Spacejock series will strike a chord with fans of Red Dwarf and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, while forging its own off-beat path through the cosmos.

There are currently eight novels in the Hal Spacejock series, as well as the Harriet Walsh and Hal Junior spin-offs (three novels each.) Clunk the robot also features in Simon’s brand new fantasy series, beginning with A Portion of Dragon and Chips.

Omnibus Two, containing Hal Spacejock books 4-6, is also available.


“Riddled with slapstick humour and glib one-liners” – Courier Mail

“Anyone who has ever had a frustrating run-in with a computer, or had to suffer bureaucratic thuggery, or who just wants a great story that will keep you smiling, this book is for you.” – /dev/random

“A well-constructed tale with plenty of twists and turns and a good few laughs.” amazon review

“All of the Hal Spacejock books are brilliant. Well written and easy to read with excellent story lines.” amazon review.



Available for a limited time