Dark Quartet: The Story of the Brontes

Written by Lynne Reid Banks

The Bronte sisters – Charlotte, Emily and Anne – are some of the best-known, and best-loved, English authors.

But less well-known were the two other Bronte sisters, Maria and Elizabeth, who died before reaching adulthood, and their brother Branwell, who was haunted by his own demons until his death in his thirties.

Their home, Haworth Parsonage, stood on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors like a rock in a tempest.

After the death of Maria and Elizabeth, the four remaining children returned to its cheerless rooms and dreamed their wild and shining fantasies, bound together by a mutual passion for literature and for their beloved moors.

Forced by poverty to emerge from Haworth to earn their living, the sisters were set free to write their extraordinary novels.

But for their brother, it meant ruin.

In ‘Dark Quartet’ Lynne Reid Banks tells the beautiful, haunting story of the Brontë family and their perilous path to fame.

‘Thoroughly gripping’ — Cosmopolitan

‘Lynne Reid Banks has written an exciting and absorbing book and has offered us her answers to some of the mysteries of the lives of the Brontës’ — Irish Times

‘A novel which will open many eyes afresh to the lives of the remarkable and gifted Brontës’ — Yorkshire Post

Lynne Reid Banks is a best-selling British author for both children and adults. Her first novel, ‘The L-Shaped Room’, was adapted into a successful film, as was her children’s book ‘The Indian in the Cupboard’. Her account of the lives of the Brontës, ‘Dark Quartet’, won the Yorkshire Arts Association Award and was followed by a sequel, ‘Path to the Silent Country: Charlotte Bronte’s Years of Fame’.

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.



Available for a limited time