The Dewey Webb Series: Books 1 and 2 (The Dewey Webb Historical Mystery Series)

Written by Renee Pawlish
Category: · Mystery & Suspense

*** Want to try another mystery series by Renee Pawlish? For a limited time, get her starter library, the first two in the Reed Ferguson mystery series, plus two bonus stories, for free. Click here to find out more: (just copy and paste into your browser) ***

The first two mysteries in the acclaimed Dewey Webb series: Web of Deceit and Murder in Fashion.

Meet Dewey Webb, a hard-boiled 1940s detective, a man of contradictions who gets down-and-dirty to get the job done. For a limited time, you can grab the first two full-length thrillers in this highly acclaimed historical mystery series, almost 600 pages, for just a little more than the price of one.

Web of Deceit

It’s 1949. World War II is over, but it has a way of haunting people for years to come.

Gordon Sandalwood suspects his wife Edith is hiding something from him, and he asks Denver private investigator Dewey Webb to find out what. Dewey, toughened by his own war experiences, reluctantly takes the case, certain it will lead to nothing. But when he sees Edith rendezvous with a mysterious man, Dewey realizes his assumptions might be wrong. As he digs deeper to identify the stranger, he turns up secrets that reach back into the war, and as he unravels a web of deceit, he discovers who has the most to gain, and the most to lose.

Murder in Fashion

In post-World War II Denver, the world of fashion can be murder.

Herb Washburn has already been convicted of murdering his boss, Mel Templeton, owner of Templeton Fashion. And in a few days, Herb is headed to the Colorado state prison for a long stay in a decidedly unfashionable suit of clothes.

Herb still claims he didn’t commit the crime and, as a last resort, his wife hires Denver private investigator Dewey Webb to find the real killer. During Dewey’s investigation into the personalities and workings of the world of design, he discovers clues that may exonerate Herb. At the same time, Dewey senses secrets and lies that cast serious doubt on Herb’s version of the events. And when Dewey realizes that someone is on his trail who doesn’t want the murder solved, he must act fast before he becomes fashion’s next victim.

These novels are hard-boiled, historical mysteries that are great for fans who love Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler.

Dewey Webb first appeared in the Reed Ferguson mystery, Back Story. Pick up a copy of Back Story to find out more about this classic hard-boiled detective.

The Dewey Webb historical mystery series:

• Book 1: Web of Deceit
• Book 2: Murder In Fashion
• Book 3: Secrets and Lies
• Book 4: Honor Among Thieves
• Book 5: Trouble Finds Her
• Short Story: Second Chance
• Short Story: Double Cross

★★★★★ ‘The world of Mr. Webb – lacking the Internet, relying on pay phones, demanding brain power instead of computers – is straight out of a black and white Bogie film. Dames in trouble, shady characters, the carefully researched clothing and scenes, Ms. Pawlish has the era down flat.’

★★★★★ ‘Great mysteries with twists and turns almost around every corner.’

★★★★★ ‘I will definitely read more from this author.’

★★★★★ ‘Renee Pawlish is a first rate author! Well crafted stories, good character descriptions, good pacing. Difficult to put down. Definitely recommended!’

★★★★★ ‘ It’s a great start to a new series by Ms Pawlish. Looking forward to the next books!’

★★★★★ ‘I will definitely read more from this author.’

★★★★★ ‘Another Winner!! Page Turner for sure!! Loving the beginning of this new series!!!’

★★★★★ ‘Couldn’t put the book down!’

Buy the box set and start a series you’ll stay up late to finish!


$4.61 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time