Sourdough Wars (The Rebecca Schwartz Series, Book 2)

Written by Julie Smith

The SECOND book in Edgar-winning author Julie Smith’s Rebecca Schwartz series.
DEATH TURNS A TRICK, FIRST IN THIS SERIES, IS NOW AVAILABLE AS AN EBOOK!
A tasty treat of a San Francisco mystery—a crisp, tangy story you’re sure to get a rise out of.
“…a brisk and breezy item, which—like sourdough itself—has its own distinctive and satisfying flavor.” -San Diego Union
“…an awful lot of fun, and it will make you unbearably hungry for fresh-baked bread.” -San Jose Mercury-News

TO YOU, ITS JUST A FROZEN LUMP OF DOUGH; TO SOME, IT’S LIFE AND DEATH…

Especially to handsome Peter Martinelli, who wants to auction off the fabled sourdough starter from his family’s famous bakery. But who’d buy a frozen hunk of flour and water? Only, it turns out, every bakery in San Francisco, a national food conglomerate, and an upstart ringer with a mysterious backer.

Someone would even kill for it. And does.

Enter lawyer sleuth Rebecca Schwartz, whose client is her own partner, glamorous Chris Nicholson, Martinelli’s main squeeze before the ill-starred auction.

Rebecca noshes her way through the case in hilariously unorthodox style, tasting some great bread along the way, but also uncovering so many ancient jealousies, long-simmering feuds, and seething resentments that she barely escapes death by doughball.

NOTE: THIS STORY IS COMPLETELY REALITY-BASED! A SAN FRANCISCO BAKERY MADE PAGE ONE NEWS BY FREEZING THEIR STARTER –ONLY WITHOUT THE BLOODSHED.

The slapstick style, over-the-top action, and witty dialogue make Rebecca Schwartz an easy choice for fans of Janet Evanovich, Stephanie Bond, Dorothy Cannell, Elizabeth Peters, Sarah Strohmeyer, and Jennifer Crusie.

Feedback

$4.14 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time