Nightmare House: A chilling novel of a haunting and the haunted (The Harrow Series Book 1)

Written by Douglas Clegg

What haunts the mysterious house called Harrow? Will you cross its threshold?

Claiming inheritance, a young man enters his grandfather’s strange mansion, unleashing a terrifying legacy — and a nest of hungry ghosts. Get ALL the Harrow novels: Mischief, The Infinite, The Abandoned and the series prequels, The Necromancer and Isis now.

For fans of haunted houses and ghost stories. “Clegg’s stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby!” – Dean Koontz, NY Times bestselling author.

“Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction.” – Peter Straub, NY Times bestselling author of The Talisman (with Stephen King) and Ghost Story.

Note: The Harrow series consists of several books set in or around the haunted estate in the Hudson Valley. Each Harrow story can be read out-of-order because the main continuing character is the dark mansion itself or those people who have or will touch it.

The Harrow Series:

Book #1, Nightmare House – set at Harrow in the 1920s, the grandson of its creator has come to claim his deadly inheritance and explore the terrifying mystery within the ancient stones and passages of the house.

#2, Mischief – Boys will be boys — and a dark fraternity of misfits seek out Jim Hook, the new student at Harrow Academy — but something more terrifying is hunting Jim, as well.

#3, The Infinite – A handful of psychic investigators are called in to document the horrors of Harrow — but little do they know that the house is more than simply a haunted place — it may be the soul of evil itself.

#4, The Abandoned — In the village of Watch Point, New York, in the bucolic Hudson Valley, something toxic and horrifying has leaked from the old boarded-up mansion called Harrow. Throughout the town, people who sleep awaken with blood-lust in their hearts — and hatchets in their fists. A rampage of mayhem, murder and madness begins — and only those brave enough to enter Harrow may find a way to stop the terror.

Harrow Prequel Novellas

The Necromancer – set in the 1800s, this is the story of the young Justin Gravesend and his initiation into a terrifying mystery cult.

Isis – set right at the end of the 1800s, the story of the young Iris Villiers when she discovers the terrible price that must be paid to speak with the dead.


$1.70 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time