Ella Wood (Ella Wood, 1)

Written by Michelle Isenhoff
Category: · Teens & Young Adult

Will Emily forego love for a chance at independence?

Emily Preston wants only to become an artist. As the nation teeters on the brink of civil war, she must wage her own battle against the restrictive ideology of her father. Women belong at home on the plantation beneath the watchful eye of a husband or father–NOT at a university. But several schools in the North have opened their doors to women. How can she make her father see just how much it means to her to study under a master?

Independence isn’t the only contentious point between them. A recent visit to her uncle’s home in Detroit has called Emily’s entire upbringing into question, but her father doesn’t appreciate her criticisms of his management of Ella Wood, the Preston family plantation. Then there’s the problem of Thaddeus Black, the handsome, charming young man who simply won’t take no for an answer. It could be that the real fight lies within her heart, which stubbornly refuses to accept that a choice for independence must be a choice against love.

“Poetic” and “nuanced,” Ella Wood is the story of a young woman standing at the edge of war and struggling with questions of morality, purpose, and love. 

All three books in the Ella Wood trilogy are clean and wholesome and ALWAYS FREE on Kindle Unlimited, as will be the accompanying series of novellas.

Titles in the Ella Wood series: Ella WoodBlood MoonEbb Tide 

Ella Wood novellas: LizzieJackJovie 
Disclaimer: Though Ella Wood contains a complete story arc, the final few pages introduce the action that kicks off book two, Blood Moon, creating a cliffhanger. However, Blood Moon is complete and picks up exactly where Ella Wood leaves off.


$2.54 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time