Cold River Rising: A Native American Mystery and Thriller Fiction Series (Cold River Series Book 1 )

Written by Enes Smith

WE ARE WARRIORS ONCE AGAIN. WE ARE THE PEOPLE.

This #1 Amazon best seller is the Native American cop mystery for which the phrase “totally off the Rez” was invented!
“Smith is a writer on his way straight up.” – Ann Rule, author of over thirty crime books, including The Stranger Beside Me and Small Sacrifices,

Three weeks into his new post as tribal police chief on the Cold River Indian Reservation of Oregon, retired Portland homicide detective Martin Andrews is already wondering, What the hell am I doing here? Then what he thought would be a laid-back retirement gig kicks up into an action-filled international kidnapping thriller, and he gets a crash course in modern warfare—Indian style.

The Šiyàpu (white man) tribal police chief is still struggling to understand a new culture and the people he serves, when Chairman Bluefeathers’ granddaughter, along with other students and their professor on a study trip, is kidnapped by the Shining Path in the mountains of central Peru. The State Department not only refuses to help but places the students in further danger from the local police and secret police, in addition to the already-present threat from the rebels and the Peruvian and United States armies.

As leader of the sovereign nation of Cold River, Bluefeathers declares war on Peru (yeah, you read that right!) and sends Martin to head up a four-person war party to retrieve the students. Crazy old man. (Crazy like a fox.) The chairman shows himself to be a skilled modern statesman and military strategist, and the Cold River Indian Reservation is joined by other Indian tribes in a show of force and solidarity. In the voices of a damaged cop, young Native-Americans learning to walk the path between two cultures, and their wiser elders, Smith weaves a multi-layered story of courage, redemption, sacrifice, death, honor, and a people coming together.

WHO WILL LIKE IT THIS NATIVE AMERICAN MYSTERY AND THRILLER, FEATURING RESERVATION POLICE AND AMERICAN INDIAN CULTURE:

Fans of Craig Johnson’s Walt Longmire Mysteries, Tony Hillerman, Anne Hillerman, Jodi Picoult, Aimee and David Thurlo, J.K. Winn, Jeff Altabef, R. Allen Chappell, and other  Native American police mystery series, plus anyone who enjoys a fast-paced international thriller.

Novels and collections by Enes Smith

Cold River Rising: A Native American Mystery and Thriller Fiction Series (Cold River Series Book 1)
Cold River Resurrection: A Native American Mystery and Thriller Fiction Series (Cold River Series Book 2)
Cold River Running: A Native American Mystery and Thriller Fiction Series (Cold River Series Book 3)
Cold River Reckoning: A Native American Mystery and Thriller Fiction Series (Cold River Series Book 4)
Cold River Renaissance: A Native American Mystery and Thriller Fiction Series (Cold River Series Book 5)
Cold River Series: Books 1-3
Cold River Series Books 4-5
Fatal Flowers: A Detective Patrick Meredith Thriller Fiction Series (Book 1)
Dear Departed: A Detective Natalie Collins Thriller Fiction Series (The Hunter Becomes the Hunted Series Book 1)
Shadowland Survivors: A Detective Natalie Collins Thriller Fiction Series (The Hunter Becomes the Hunted Series Book 2)
The Serial Killer Chronicles Books 1-3

Non-fiction

The One Minute Lie Detector: Former Homicide Detective Teaches You to Spot Deception
Live For Almost Free: Find Free Housing, Become Debt Free and Self-Sufficient in an Uncertain World

Feedback

$3.10 FREE

Available for a limited time

*This book is Free for a limited time